Discover the gold mining history of the area on one of the two loop trails. The shorter loop is just over one kilometre long and takes about one hour to complete. The longer loop is about five kilometres and takes three to four hours. Interpretive signs illustrate mining techniques, geology, and treatment of ore and the lifestyles of people who lived there.
Chateau Tanunda, built in 1890 from bluestone quarried at nearby Bethany, is steeped in history. It's an awe-inspiring place to visit, combining historic winery buildings and a stunning cellar door. The building is surrounded by vineyards and beautifully landscaped gardens, a great place to stop and relax while in the valley.
Built in 1861 on land and with money donated by George Fife Angas, Friedensberg (Hill of Peace) Schoolroom with Headmaster's residence attached also served for four decades as St Johannes Church for the early Prussian Lutheran pioneer settlers at Springton.
Nestled in a private valley surrounded by stunning scenic vineyards, Chateau Yaldara sits proudly perched on a hill overlooking the North Para River. The magnificent Chateau is home to McGuigan Wines and continues to nurture some of Australia's oldest vines. Property tours including the historic building are available 10.30am and 2.30pm daily.
The Herbig Family Tree is a large, hollow red gum tree at Springton. It is estimated to be 300 to 500 years old with a diameter of seven metres at its base and a height of 24 metres. A small stream runs nearby.
The Whispering Wall is in fact the retaining wall of the Barossa Reservoir. Built between 1899 and 1903, the dam was a revolutionary engineering feat for its day and attracted attention from all over the world, even making its way into the pages of the journal Scientific American.